Books · Uncategorized

Blood of Eden by Julie Kagawa: Review


Sorry it took me so long to do this! I’ve been busy but not busy, I don’t know how to explain it! Anyway, on to the review!!!

  ImmortalRulesShelfEternityCureShelfForeverSong

In the dark days since the insidious Red Lung virus decimated the human population, vampires have risen to rule the crumbling cities. Uncontested princes rule over diminished ranks of mortals. In exchange for their labor, loyalty and, of course, their blood, many humans are now registered, fed and sheltered—farmed like cattle. Still more, who remain stubbornly unregistered, scavenge on the Fringes for survival.

Outside city walls: a vast wilderness, stalked by terrifying creatures called rabids. Created when humans and vampires attempted to cure Red Lung, rabids prowl by night, mindless and ravenous for human blood.

Allison Sekemoto is a life-long Fringer: always hunted, always hungry. But when forced to choose between agonizing death and becoming what she hates…Allie takes immortality. Passing for human, the fledgling vampire joins a band of pilgrims on a glorious, insane quest: to find a cure for rabidism, for vampirism, for all humanity. But Allie’s excruciating blood-hunger cannot be denied. Not for friendship—not even for love.

*Description and Pictures taken from Julie Kagawa’s page*

Star Rating 4.5

I picked up The Immortal Rules because it was the iBook’s book of the week and it was free! It was YA and I’ve read books by Julie Kagawa before and really enjoyed them, so I thought why not! I really enjoyed the characters in the book, they were really well developed and you definitely felt a connection with them. I was really afraid to get into this due to the whole fact that I knew there would be a romance, and didn’t want it to be like another certain book with sparkly vampires… But there was a fair amount of action and adventure. The vampire lore was obviously researched by the author, as the vampires didn’t sparkle and they actually drank people blood. I really liked the whole virus spin with the rabids and the Red Lung virus. It definitely made the story for me. Having a little bit of a medical background it made sense to me how things work out in the end with the virus…(trying to be vague for those who intend to read it!)

I really don’t have much to say other than I really enjoyed the series! It wasn’t the best I’ve ever read but it was really good! Check it out!!!

Happy Reading,

AJ

Leave a Comment Please!

