Matched Series: Review


bookcover-matched-us

In the Society, Officials decide. Who you love. Where you work. When you die.

Cassia has always trusted their choices. It’s hardly any price to pay for a long life, the perfect job, the ideal mate. So when her best friend appears on the Matching screen, Cassia knows with complete certainty that he is the one… until she sees another face flash for an instant before the screen fades to black. Now Cassia is faced with impossible choices: between Xander and Ky, between the only life she’s known and a path no one else has ever dared follow — between perfection and passion.

*Picture and Book info taken from the Matched-Book Website*

Stars : Overall 3.75

WARNING THIS REVIEW MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS!

Matched (book 1) was a 4.5 star book for me, I really loved it but Crossed(book 2) bogged down the series and it just didn’t pick up too much more for Reached(book 3). I felt like a lot of book 2 and 3 were just “filler”. Don’t get me wrong I enjoyed this book but I felt that there could have been more to the story. I would have liked to see more into Ky and Cassia’s relationship, I didn’t feel like there was a lot of depth to it, like there was with Xander and Cassia. I would have liked to see the story follow-up with Ky’s Aunt and Uncle at the end as well as Ky’s cousin Matthew. I felt that Indie was an odd character and thrown in there somewhat randomly. She had a place in the story and helped it along but I felt she should have been woven in a little better. Also the toss in of Vick and Laney who is really Lei, I felt it was thrown in there but not hammered out right. Especially since Xander and her end up together and it all ties together but doesn’t really fit at the same time. I don’t know that’s how I felt, maybe some of you thought the same thing.

I really enjoyed all the poetry and how it tied into the story, you could feel the inspiration that it gave Condie. This small aspect is what made me really enjoy the book. I also really enjoyed the Archivists and wish there would have been more about them.

Crossed took me FOREVER to read. I’m a pretty fast reader if I’m really into what I am reading and I just couldn’t make myself read it for long periods of time. I picked up Panic by Lauren Oliver yesterday and had it finished within 10 hours. I’ll be posting a review on that next! But since Crossed took me so long I kinda lost interest for Reached.

Overall I thought it was a decent series, not the best but certainly not the worst! I will definitely read more of her books in the future as I really enjoyed her writing.

Comment, like, share, or follow!

Happy Reading,

AJ

Leave a Comment Please!

